Tribute night for Alf and Micky

Dear clients,

Hello there!

As you know, on holiday/rest cure, been, I have. Fully re-energised, I am.

Expecting big coach party of Alfred Haddock, and Micky Ross fans/admirers, we are.

All bar staff are at the ready.

Drinks are on the house! Moderation in all things, have, you must. (See the Welcome Punters page)

25 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by teresa on August 20th, 2010 at 01:17

    omvendt, burrito: They may have some positive consequence, but they destroyed the nice community we used to have there. The posters on DT are now a different bunch of people, and many who I would very much to meet again don’t come any more. Hope C P&S will be a place where we can meet all the nice people again. In the cyperspace it is so easy to lose sight of each other.

    Reply

    • Hang on in there teresa and alba.

      The peace of God will discomfit us always, while we are down here at least. Its all in his plan.

  2. Posted by alba on August 19th, 2010 at 22:54

    Brother Donkey, perhaps you are right; but it is depressing to see people behaving like the dwarfs – blind, and incapable of seeing their own blindness. And by the way – it’s uncanny – I had that exact same scene from The Last Battle in mind today, when thinking of That Blog…

    Reply

    • Uncanny things have been happening alot to me and BB since we joined the CP&S crew!

      Spooky action at a distance, almost.

  3. Posted by omvendt on August 19th, 2010 at 16:44

    “I am hoping to discuss him sometime later on at CP&S”.

    I very much look forward to that, BB.

    Re ‘Mork and Mindy’ @ the DT blog, I agree that they, ironically, can produce good consequences.

    To be fair, I find them despicable but sometimes unintentionally hilarious.

    Reply

  4. Posted by omvendt on August 19th, 2010 at 00:00

    My dear Donkey,

    I was pulling your leg about Anthony de Mello!

    Reply

    • Posted by Brother Burrito on August 19th, 2010 at 13:51

      omvendt,

      Despite his censure, he was not banned outright. Caution was advised on reading, especially his later works.

      I am hoping to discuss him sometime later on at CP&S.

  5. Posted by alba on August 18th, 2010 at 23:44

    Because of AH and MR, I’ve lost the will to post (much!) on DT’s blog.

    Reply

    • Posted by Brother Burrito on August 19th, 2010 at 13:48

      Alba,
      Those two are strangely doing good: they are helping to portray fundamentalist atheists as silly stupid selfish petty small-minded vicious etc.

      Which of course, they are. They remind me of the dwarves in the CS Lewis Narnia book: The Last Battle.
      “The dwarves are for the dwarves!”

      Please don’t let them put you off. Keep up the good fight, and retire here occasionally for a swift sherbert!

  6. Posted by Brother Burrito on August 18th, 2010 at 22:06

    Oh, my head, that must have been a good party for I can remember none of it.

    I hope MR and AH enjoyed their tribute, and we can look forward to many more incisive posts from them over at DT.

    Reply

  7. Posted by teresa on August 18th, 2010 at 18:37

    Ay boss, and joyful, and Burrito, if you are around, do have a look at the barrel!

    I have something to serve! from the cellar of Pure and Simple!

    Reply

  8. Is it time for a song, yet?

    Reply

  9. Posted by alba on August 17th, 2010 at 23:30

    (I suppose I should make it clear that I don’t mean Damian’s own picture. I mean the man with the goatee beard).

    Reply

  10. Posted by alba on August 17th, 2010 at 23:20

    I see over at Damian’s place there’s a picture of a man who looks a lot weirder than Yoda.

    Reply

  11. Posted by The Raven on August 17th, 2010 at 22:44

    Tarnation, late at the party again.

    Ooh, are those slightly soft twiglets still going? Yum, yum!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Brother Burrito on August 17th, 2010 at 09:49

    Master,

    The twiglets are going soft, the vol au vents are going crusty, and the sparkly is getting flat.

    Where are they?

    Reply

  13. I must rest my eyes, but please, all of you party on, in their honour!

    Lovely to see you again, dear alba!

    Reply

  14. Posted by alba on August 17th, 2010 at 00:39

    I doubt those self-righteous gits drink alcohol.

    Reply

  15. Perhaps the coach has had a puncture?

    Reply

  16. They might not give ‘tips’.

    But they might give ‘advice’!

    Best you stay up here, Fraulein; Der Bierkeller ist voll von russischen Landstreicher.

    Reply

  17. Posted by teresa on August 16th, 2010 at 22:36

    now what kind of drinks shall I serve boss? I am afraid they won’t give tips.

    Reply

  18. Now, where are all those fans we are expecting?

    Reply

  19. BB, you silly ass,

    A firm believer in the inner policeman, I am.

    The outer policeman is only for when the former fails.

    Love trumps obedience, it does.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Brother Burrito on August 16th, 2010 at 22:24

    Master, on your invitation at DT, you state that partycomers need fear no moderation, yet you say here “moderation in all things”. Wozgoingon?

    Reply

  21. Posted by Brother Burrito on August 16th, 2010 at 22:14

    Master, I have set up a bouncy trampoline for the little ones, in a neighbouring garden, errrh, for legal reasons, etc:

    http://catholicismpure.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

